Allen County Agriculture Hall of Fame


The Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce initiated their sponsorship of an Allen County Agriculture Hall of Fame in 2013. This annual award is being made to men and women who have been instrumental to the success and excellence of agriculture in Allen County, either as a farmer or in an agriculturally related field. With over $114 million in annual crop and livestock sales, production agriculture is Allen County’s largest industry. Farms occupy over 80% of its land base.


The purpose is to honor and give public recognition to those who have brought distinction to themselves, have made outstanding contributions to their professions, and whose community involvement has served as a stimulus to others.

Award Selection

The number of awards made each year may vary and is at the complete discretion of the committee. The number of posthumous awards made in a given year is preferred not to exceed half of the total inductees. Honorees are to be selected via a ballot vote of the Ag-Business committee of the Lima Allen County Chamber of Commerce. They reserve the right to request that a nomination is held over for consideration the following year.

Commendable Nominees

The committee has the ability to annually recognize nominees who were not selected for induction into the Hall of Fame, but have truly exemplified the spirit of the Allen County farmer as a dedicated and committed servant to their industry and community.

Who Can Be Nominated

Nominations are honored in two categories:
Producer/Breeder and Agricultural Related.
Nominees must have made their major contributions to agriculture primarily as a result of being born, growing up, living in, or beginning their careers in Allen County. The goal is for honorees to have at least 25 years of experience in agriculture. Nominations can be made posthumously.

The Nomination Process

Award nomination forms for the 2020 Ag Hall of Fame Overview presented by Nutrien can be secured through the Chamber office or on their website (using the link above). Partnership or husband & wife applications will be considered as a single nomination and will use one application form. Hall of Fame nominees may be submitted by an individual or organization in Allen County by completing the nomination form. One additional page (8.5 x 11″ paper) may be used if needed. Other additional pages or information will not be considered.

Deadline for 2021 Submissions
The deadline for submission of 2021 is Monday, May 3, 2021. The application with an original signature is to be received in the Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce office by 4:00 PM on the deadline date.  The Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce is located at 144 S. Main Street, Suite 100, Lima, OH 45801.

Annual Induction Ceremony
The Chamber will honor the 2021 inductees to the Allen County Agriculture Hall of Fame at a banquet to be held sometime during the summer-details to be released at a later date.

For more information contact:
Lima Allen County Chamber of Commerce
144 S. Main St., Lima, OH 45801